Jared Scribbles

An awkward artist recording her progression in life.

Photos From My Summer Vacation 2012

leave a comment »

Summer went as fast as it came. It was filled with a few terrible things but a lot of great memories. Luckily I was able to go out of town a few times with my family and capture some nice photographs since my goal for this summer was to use my camera more after it had been collecting dust in the closet. I would’ve posted some of these images earlier but I didn’t get around to sending my film to develop just until two weeks ago.

As a fair warning, this post is going to be a bit pic-heavy so don’t forget to click the link below the photo to see the rest of this post!

Gratuitous picture of my demon dog. Don’t let her cuteness fool you. She’s a monster!

The photo above was taken on my niece’s birthday. She had a few friends over and they went swimming. The little boy is my nephew.

Sometime in June (or was it July?), my family and I went to the beach in Corpus Christi. I didn’t think the black and white photos were going to be as great as the color ones, but they turned out to be my favorite. We use to go to the beach all the time when I was a kid but we slowly stopped going. Last year was the first time in a long time that we had gone to the beach so we were excited to go back again this summer.

Eating sandwiches before the beach is tradition!

My sister refuses to let me take pictures of her but the photo above is honestly one of my favorite shots that I took over the summer.

I didn’t get to take any pictures of my nephew’s birthday party because I forgot my camera, but I was able to take some of my niece’s.

Also, during the summer, my niece and nephew played on kiddy baseball teams. Somehow this photo snuck into my camera roll.

My sister had a conference to go to for a week in Dallas so the rest of my family decided to go to visit my tio Tony and have a little vacation while we were at it. The only photos I took were from the zoo. We also went to the Dallas Museum of Art but they had a complicated system when it came to taking pictures so I decided not to. Sadly, they didn’t have the painting I wanted to see on display anyways so it was quite alright.

Since I hadn’t gone anywhere with my dad, we went to San Antonio to visit the art museums and do some “touristy” things.

BUTTS, BUTTS EVERYWHERE.

I wrote down the names of the artworks that I took pictures of in my iPhone but I accidentally deleted my notes so I’m not sure who they’re by. {If you have any idea, please let me know!)

Milk, by: Ed Saavedra, 2009

This Harvey Milk painting was absolutely beautiful in person. The colors were much more vibrant and his gaze is just so cheerful and optimistic.

This photo above is part of a series of paintings that had layers upon layers of paint. The color was much more vibrant than this. At a distance it seemed like a glowing kind of gradient, but up close you could see the layers. Have I mentioned that I like to touch things? It took all my will power not to touch the paintings. I seriously just want to feel the layers. Thus said, you should never leave me at an art museum by myself.

My family never really likes to just walk around places but my dad doesn’t mind. We actually walked a good part of the river walk which was nice. There were lots of duckies everywhere! We even walked by the Alamo to see what was going on. There were these people celebrating something and they were flipping a statue of San Antonio the whole time they were there. There were even people in costume dancing and people playing music.

 I got my film developed at Denco in Laredo, my hometown, and I must say that they did a fantastic job, especially with the black and white photos! I have about two more rolls of film from summer when my mom’s side of the family went to the beach two weeks ago, but I wasn’t able to get them developed before I left. I’ll probably post those when I decided to drop them off and pick up prints later. I wish my scanner was better because it doesn’t do justice for some of these photos!

There were a lot more photos that I took but these were just some of my favorite shots. Of course not all of them can be winners.

Hopefully I can take more photos during the school year. My goal is to get myself a fisheye lens (or camera) and a Diana. Maybe I should take a photography class again.

Leave a comment