Jared Scribbles

An awkward artist recording her progression in life.

Lucky Friday the Thirteenth

leave a comment »

I’ve never understood why Friday the 13th is considered to be the unluckiest day of the year. In all honesty, I’m pretty sure I’ve had great luck on this particular day of the year, but mostly today. I went out on my weekend thrifting spree as always, but today I felt like I had unbelievable luck today. I checked out a total of four thrift stores today (Goodwill on Brodie, Goodwill at Oak Hills, Thrift Town, and Thrift Land) and left with these awesome plates, a metal basket to hold our fruit, a magazine rack, a porcelain owl, and a set of plastic chairs with a table for my niece and nephew. Sadly, though I didn’t find anything Thrift Land. I’m not going to lie but the people there seemed kind of on the pessimistic side and the store just had this negative atmosphere so I cut my visit short there and left really quick. Oh, well.. here’s what I found today:

The impressionism paintings on the plate are: Dance in the City by Pierre-Auguste Renoir, le Foyer de la danse (the Dance Foyer at the Opera) by Edgar Degas, Les Coquelicots (Poppies Blooming) by Claude Monet, and the Night Cafe Terrace by Vincent van Gogh. 8 plates for $13.77 and my favorite find of today! I tried looking up how much they costs but couldn’t really find anything. Though I found an old post that someone sold a set of four dishes like these for $20, so I think I got a pretty good deal!

I’ve been wanting a basket to hold the fruit on the counter for several months now. It looked brand new so I decided to get it. It cost me $4.32 at Thrift Town which is not too bad. I stumbled across the owl above at Goodwill along with the magazine rack and the table & chairs below. My total for that came out to $11.85, not too bad either! I’m thinking of painting the owl but I’m not sure if I just want to do it white, black, or a different color. Also, I accidentally chipped the “ear” part of it a bit when I got back to the apartment.

I use to have this table and chairs when I was a kid and it’s still in our family today. My  niece and nephew use it to eat in the kitchen. When we moved into our new house before my niece and nephew lived with us in my hometown, we brought the table and one chair with us. We left the other one back at the old either because we used it to sit down when we were still cleaning up the whole house while we were moving or because it was somewhere lost at the time. One time we were in San Antonio thrifting, we came across one of the yellow chairs and decided to get it since we were missing the other. So finally when my momma recently sold the old house a couple of months ago, we brought the other yellow chair and ended up with 3 little yellow chairs. So today when I came across the table and chairs, I called my momma and asked her if I should buy it or just leave it. I thought she was going to say to only buy one yellow chair but she told me to get the whole thing since we always have her side of the family over and everyone has a million kids.

Normally a brand new Little Tikes set costs $54.99 (before tax) and I paid $7.97 (before tax).

Have you ever sat in one of these Little Tikes chairs? They are seriously the sturdiest chairs ever made. I believe they should totally make adult furniture out of the same material. I bet those would last forever like my old set!

Written by Monklin

January 14, 2012 at 1:43 am

Leave a Reply

