Jared Scribbles

An awkward artist recording her progression in life.

Back in Austin Once Again

with 2 comments

It’s great to be back in Austin again! It feels like I haven’t been here in ages and yet it feels like I never even left. My holiday break was actually very entertaining though I regret not being able to do all the things I wanted to do back in my hometown. I was always busy doing things with my family and cleaning the house. I also regret leaving on such a bad note with one of my best friends but things are better now and I honestly hope they will continue to be. At least I’m glad that I got to see several of my good friends that I haven’t seen in months. I’m glad that they are all doing great and moving on to better things in their lives.

Anyways, now I’m back and I’ve been lazier than ever, but at least I’m getting sleep now. School starts next Tuesday and I am unbelievably excited! Three art classes and I have Fridays off. Pretty cool, huh?

Before I left Austin, I had bought a couch but we had to wait a month before we got it. The salesperson told us that they would call us right after Christmas when my couch has arrived from the warehouse at the beginning in January. So far there hasn’t been any call and I’m starting to get the feeling that I’m not going to get my couch any time soon. Anyways, here’s a picture of the lovely couch that I ordered.

It’s such a brilliant shade of red! Those who know me really well, know that I love bold colors and how much I absolutely love the color red. I only got the couch since I thought the ottoman wasn’t too aesthetically pleasing in person.

Last Saturday, my momma and I went looking for glasses here in Austin since we could not find ones we liked back in my hometown. I liked the first pair that I tried on but continued looking around to only end up with the first pair again.

My mother ended up choosing ones from the same designer. Luckily for her they already had her lenses available at the store so she was able to pick them up the next day while I have to wait 7-14 days. Oh, well.. I’ll be patient.

While thrifting the other day with my parents at Goodwill, my mother was looking at the furniture section and called me over to see a coffee table that was for sale. It was a modern coffee table that had an artistic feel to it. It seemed pretty awesome but I didn’t think much of it. Though I did end up leaving with two bunny statues (that I’m going to spray paint white soon), a magazine rack (that I was going to paint black but decided not to in the end), and the book Canterbury Tales (because I’m a sucker for classics).

The next day while picking up my mother’s glasses, I kept think about the coffee table nonstop and how I haven’t seen any other coffee tables I liked at any of the furniture stores we’ve been too. I decided to go back to Goodwill to see if that coffee table was still for sell and luckily no one had touched it!

I found the same table online priced from $200(used) to $700(new) and I ended up paying only $43.29 for it. Even though it is chipped in two places and has a barely noticeable scratch, I still think it was such a good buy!

Now to wait for that pesky couch to be delivered so my roommate and I can finally have a living room to sit in.

Written by Monklin

January 11, 2012 at 3:36 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi~ Where did you find the red couch do you know if they have an online store?

    Rolanda

    February 18, 2013 at 4:51 pm


Leave a Reply

