Jared Scribbles

An awkward artist recording her progression in life.

Creative Summer 2011, Day 8: Organizing Sketchbooks

leave a comment »

Today I decided to clean out my desk and reorganize my sketchbooks. In total I have 12 sketchbooks, 10 that are still unfinished, and yet I still want more!

The reason why some of them are still unfinished is only because I don’t draw in them everyone and they each have their own specific purpose. Here’s a little info. about each going from left to right, up and down.

001: the first sketchbook use to be a black sketchbook with a picture of a purple fairy on it.. until I decided that I hated it and covered it completely with pink and blue duct tape. This was my very first hardcover sketchbook. I started it in middle school and finished it some time in high school. It mostly has pen and pencil drawings. It is also the first sketchbook I’ve completed.

002: this sketchbook is my most favorite and the most personal, but I still let people see it. I just don’t tell them what each entry means. This is mostly mixed media, so the pages are loaded with all types of mediums but mostly acrylic paint and ink.

003: mostly random drawings all done in high school. I think it took me about a year or two to finish.

004: Wreck This Journal was created by Keri Smith. I suggest you look up what it is and read up about it [here]. Though I probably will make a future post about the project and my own take of it.

005: just another ongoing journal, mostly drawings and watercoloring.

006: recently I dubbed this as my autograph book. So far I drew the members of Motion City Soundtrack and got them to sign their portraits during Warped Tour. I’m hoping I will keep this as an ongoing thing. Luckily it is small and can fit in my back pocket!

007: this is another one of my most favorite sketchbooks. It is 7 inches by 7 inches. I think I am in love with it because of the size. This also mostly has drawings and watercoloring bits.

008: I received sketchbook from my friend but I absolutely hate spiral sketchbooks. So I decided to dub this as an actual sketchbook and just write my ideas and actually sketch.

009: this one has been sitting around for a while but it’s purpose still holds true. I call this the Portrait Project sketchbook. My goal is to fill it with drawings/paintings of people that I have met over the years. So far I only have a drawing of me from 2010. Either way, I hope to work on it more this summer.

010: this one was on clearance for $3 and I just had to have it because it’s small and the pages are pretty thick.

011: this one is a recycled handmade watercolor sketchbook I found in Hobby Lobby. It cost me $25 and it is the most I have ever paid for a sketchbook. The paper has a nice texture but I find it a bit hard to work with while watercoloring. But the results looks amazing!

012: I’ve had this one lying around for a while since I bought it with number 009. (It was a 2 for 1 sale at Michael’s.) But today I finally decided that it shall be my Illustration Friday sketchbook. (Learn more about IF [here].)

I have this thing where I can only have bound sketchbooks. The problem with me and spiral sketchbooks is that I always decide to pull out paper and end up throwing it away. But with a bound sketchbook, I am able to keep all the pages together in one place and it prevents me from tossing out the horrible artwork I come up with sometimes and it looks way better for archival reasons.

Yes, I do have a problem: I have an addiction to sketchbooks. Should I get help? Naaah, it’s all for the sake of art!

Written by Monklin

May 14, 2011 at 1:58 am

Leave a Reply

