Jared Scribbles

An awkward artist recording her progression in life.

Creative Summer 2011, Day 4: Planting Sunflowers

leave a comment »

Sunflowers always remind me of my father. When I was little my father had planted sunflowers along the cement path to our front door. I remember that they were as tall as my dad, though there is a faint memory of my mother not wanting them because they were too tall. But then again, it’s been such a long time, so I could be thinking of something else.

I guess because of my dad, sunflowers are my favorite flowers. Though it’s weird to say that since I am actually not a huge fan of flowers. Maybe it’s the fact that flowers are considered feminine and my mind reacts against it because I don’t want to be feminine but equal to masculinity. I don’t know my mind is weird. Then again, sunflowers are considered a masculine flower because of the colors and that the fact that the sun was always seen to be as a male. Which may be the reason why I like suns and the color yellow. Anyways, I think I’m starting to stray away from the main point of this post.

I called up my father earlier in the day yesterday and asked him how should I plant them. He told me to put them straight into the ground but I was hesitant due to the fact that our yard is currently filled with weeds. After arguing with him for a moment, he then suggested to plant them in a container than transplant them when they start to sprout. So I grabbed this crate from my mother’s room, lined it with wax paper so the soil won’t spill out from the holes but will allow excess water to escape, then planted my sunflower seeds in it.

I also planted some “wild flower” seeds that my mom and I bought at Target one time in two cylinder containers. I have no idea what they are or if they will even go, but if they do, those are going to go in the front yard by our mailbox.

 Well, here’s to hoping that my lovely chihuahuas won’t dig up the seeds, or worse.. having those pesky birds eat them up.

Written by Monklin

May 10, 2011 at 5:26 am

Leave a Reply

